THE EDDYs 4th!


BY: Pilar Mateo

THE Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) and the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) collaborated for the 4th edition of the EDDYS (Entertainment Editors’ Choice) happening virtually via the FDCP Channel on March 22, 2021.

For the 3rd time, the FDCP through its Chair Liza Diño Seguerra gives its all out support and trust to the group.

In spite of the CoVid-19 pandemic, the 4th EDDYs will give recognition to 14 categories including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress and Best Actor.

Through the, the EDDYS will be viewed worldwide which will be streamed on other platforms like the SPEEd Facebook page and the YouTube channels of the members.

Apart from the FDCP, lending support to the EDDYS are Beautederm Corporation Inc., Toktok courier service/delivery app (major sponsor), San Miguel Corp., Tiger Crackers, Smart Shot, Speaker Allan Lord Velasco, Raffy Tulfo, Willie Revillame, and Cong. Nina Taduran of the ACT-CIS Patrylist.

As in the past years, counting the ballots is the tried and tested auditing firm of Juancho Robles (Chan Robles & Company, CPAs).

On Monday, March 15, the complete set of nominees for the acting and technical categories will be released.

This is also the time where SPEEd will launch the Isah V. Red Award in honor of its late founding president, Isah V. Red.

“This recognition is given to individuals like him — a dynamic and spirited renaissance man with a deep love for God, country and community — who beyond the realm of entertainment has so enriched and made a difference in the lives of many, in his most colorful, gregarious and inimitable way,” shared SPEEd President si Ian Fariñas.

The first to receive the IVR Awards include Senator Bong Revilla Jr., Angel Locsin, Kim Chiu, Ramon Ang, Rei Anicoche-Tan, and Claire de Leon-Papa for their exemplary works shared for Filipinos affected by the global health crisis.

The EDDYS Icon awardees for 2021 shall be bestowed to Gloria Sevilla, Ronaldo Valdez, Pilar Pilapil, Boots Anson-Rodrigo, Gina Pareño, Dante Rivero, Tommy Abuel, Caridad Sanchez, Joel Lamangan, at Ricky Lee.

As shared by SPEEd Secretary Maricris Valdez,
“For artists to be called ICONS means that they symbolize the very essence of the industry they represent. This year, the SPEEd are humbled to extol 10 brilliant vessels of cinematic art as ICONS of our beloved movie industry.”

Special awards like the Joe Quirino Award will be given to TV-radio host-columnist Lolit Solis; the Manny Pichel Award, for entertainment columnist Mario Bautista; the Rising Producers’ Circle, for Blacksheep Productions; and Producer of the Year, to The IdeaFirst Company.

Posthumous recognition will be given to the families of Peque Gallaga, Tony Mabesa, Menggie Cobarrubias, Ramon Revilla Sr., and Tony Ferrer.

SPEEd’s giving of these awards or recognition is one way of enhancing and uplifting the morale, giving inspiration to the Filipino filmmakers, producers, writers, actors and everyone who works together to come up with films of great caliber and unmatched quality.

SPEEd is the organization of entertainment editors of major broadsheets and tabloids in the country.

On the side, being of help to reach out to some of the ICONS, Maricris and I cannot but help applaud our cinemas greats as to how they value this recognition.

“Since, bawal pa nga ang lumabas, their trophies are delivered to them personally. But you know what, nakakatuwa si tito Dante (Rivero). Since he lives in Quezon City, siya na ang personal na kumuha ng trophy niya. Ms. Pilar naman got so excited na she shared na in her social media account her pic holding her trophy. She asked to deliver her trophy in her lockedin taping (fo “First Yaya”) before she flies back to Cebu. Tito Ronaldo was so dapper in his suit. Talagang ramdam mo the feels of their excitement to receive the recognition. Talagang exemplary.”

What can i say? Actors of their time are of a different breed. Every little thing that the industry gives them is very much appreciated. They won’t be called ICONS for nothing!

Witness them be honored together with the winners for the 14 categories in this virtual event.

See you at the EDDYS! (30)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s