Philippines bags 3 awards in ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards 2019

pilar mateo sni THE “P” TALKS!

BY: Pilar Mateo

KUCHING, SARAWAK, MALAYSIA-IT WAS a very emotional night for the AIFFA (ASEAN International Film Festival) 2019. As the Best Actor was named. For his fine portrayal in “Kristo

Director of the film, Howard Yambao accepted the award on behalf of Kristoffer King. Who passed away months before.

Everyone got shocked when Director Howard talked about the demise of the actor. Later on, we knew from the Jury that it was only that morning of the awards they knew about King and of his passing.

Actress Barbara Miguel of “1-2-3” (Gasping for Air) got the Best Supporting Actress plum.

Chito RoñosSignal Rock” is the Best Film.

The other awards went to:

  • Special Jury Award-Hari Minggu Yang Ke-4 (Brunei) which dealt with the issues and problems between millennials and the expectations of the old generation.
  • Best Film Editing-Ave Maryam (Indonesia)
  • Best Director of Photography-Na Gyi “Mi” (Myanmar)
  • Best Screenplay-“Song Lang” (Vietnam)
  • Special Jury Award (2) “Bad Genius” (Thailand) confrontd the problems of the ASEAN youth today.
  • Best Actress-Raihaanun “27 Steps of May” (Indonesia)
  • Best Supporting Actor-Amerul Affendi “Crossroads: One Two Jaga” (Malaysia)
  • Special Jury Award (3)-Shwe Kyar -“Golden Lotus” (Myanmar) A courageous film that brings to light issues of prostitution from a unique perspective.
  • Best Director- Nam Ron “Crossroads: One Two Jaga” (Malaysia)
  • ASEAN Spirit Award – “Rina 2”-(Brunei and Laos) Highlights the collaborayion between cultures leading to the discovery of their similarities.
  • AIFFA 2018 Luminary Award-Steven Seagal
  • AIFFA 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award-Slamet Rahardjo

AIFFA has been officially endorsed by all the ASEAN countries as the film festival for the region. It brings creative output from ASEAN countries while promoting better cooperation and understanding between ASEAN cultures via presenting films that are innovative and of high quality.

More than 100 films from 10 ASEAN countries competed in the 9 film categories.

Congratulations to all the winners! Especially to our very own!

See you in 2021! Festival Director Livan Tajang and her AIFFA Team are ecstatic about the outcome of the outpouring participation of the ASEAN countries.

As head jury U-Wei Haji Saari (of Malaysia) said, about their choice of the Best Film, our “Signal Rock“, “Everybody loved it! From the mechanics of the film. It reflects the story of the society. Trying to find a signal. You will like all the metaphors there. A significant story that is very relevant. You will never see abywhere else.

Another member of the jury, our very own Amable “Tikoy” Aguiluz said, “Bilib sa Pilipino ang mga filmmakers ng iba’t ibang bansa. One director admitted that yes, ginagawa niyang peg ang stories he sees onscreen ng mga nagawa na ng ating mga film directors. And we are already celebrating our 100 years when most of them, ngayon pa lang pumapaimbulog sa kanilang larangan. This is a good venue for countries to be able to collaborate like what Brunei and Laos did. Kaya with the choice for the Best Film, it was unanimous. Malalim. Simple. It had all the elements. If this can be done yearly, the better. But of course, they needed that much time for the fundings. It is the 4th year so am sure, that time will come na everyone will get very much excited kung every year na siya. Napakaraming pelikula!”

The recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award gave his very sweet speech last night, even citing our very own Mike de Leon as part of the journey he chose to be a filmmaker.

The Filipino spirit of being an artiste in all these 100 years have been ingrained in other artists all over the world.

There are so many stories to tell. Bring them on!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s