FDCP Names 86 Honorees for the 3rd Film Ambassadors’ Night

BY: Rohn Romulo

THE Film Development Council of the Philippines(FDCP) will give recognition to eighty-six (86) filmmakers, artists, and films that brought prestige to the country in 2018 by winning in globally recognized film festivals during the third FDCP Film Ambassadors’ Night on February 10, 2019 at the Samsung Hall at SM Aura Premier in Bonifacio Global City.

The Film Ambassadors’ Night is an annual celebration that serves as an evening of thanksgiving and a gathering of award-winning filmmakers who showcased notable films with global potential around the world. SM Aura Premier Samsung Hall serves as the venue partner sponsored by Globe Telecom, Fullhouse Asia Production Studios, Inc., Fire and Ice Productions, HEA Watches, and Solar Entertainment Corporation.

Honorees include films that received accolades from A-list international film festivals, namely Shireen Seno’s Nervous Translation (NETPAC Award for Best Asian Feature Film at the 47th International Film Festival Rotterdam in Netherlands and Best Screenwriter for Asian New Talent Category at the 21st Shanghai International Film Festival in China), Treb Monteras II’s Respeto (Centenary Award for the Best Debut Film of a Director at the International Film Festival of India in Goa, India), and Brillante Mendoza’s Alpha, The Right To Kill (Special Jury Prize at the 66th San Sebastian International Film Festival in San Sebastian, Spain).

Moreover, three (3) remarkable members of the film community will bring home the Camera Obscura Artistic Excellence Award. It is the highest honor given by the Agency to those who displayed excellence in the global film arena and made major contributions in Philippine cinema. Awardees will be announced by FDCP soon.

Shireen Seno
Shireen Seno, director-writer of drama film Nervous Translation (Photo grabbed from Shireen Seno’s Tumblr account)

Among the Film Ambassadors who will be honored this year are the following:



  1. Kamil Roxas, Rendezvous
  2. Rob Blackburn, Janus


  1. Maricel Balderama, Pas-an
  2. Raymond Murilla, Hele
  3. Jek Jumawan, Sulyap
  4. Christian Apolinario, Ma-Gulong Sayaw ng Buhay
  5. Danabelle Gutierrez, Girl Next Door


  1. Melon Perez, Girl Next Door
  2. Mark Dela Cruz, Public Service
  3. Arjanmar Rebeta, Ma-Gulong Sayaw ng Buhay
  4. Carlo Francisco Manatad, Jodilerks Dela Cruz, Employee of the Month


  1. Who Am I directed by Mark Justine Aguillon
  2. Manong Ng Pa-aling directed by E. Del Mundo
  3. Kiss directed by Harlene Bautista
  4. I Did It directed by Bea Maureen Cayone, Christine Anne Roa, and Catherine Anne Roa
  5. Pa(g)asa directed by Al-jhun Romel Virgo
  6. Palabas (A Country in Moving Pictures) directed by Arjanmar Rebeta
  7. Tres directed by James Ocampo
  8. Black Palette directed by Fritz Silorio
  9. Tubbataha: A National Treasure directed by Don Falsario II
  10. Ma-Gulong Sayaw ng Buhay directed by Arjanmar H. Rebeta
  11. Kadena directed by Arvin Belarmino
  12. Pas-an directed by Geraldo Jumawan and Sherwin Compendio
  13. Jodilerks Dela Cruz, Employee of the Month directed by Carlo Francisco Manatad
  14. Ngiti Ni Nazareno directed by Louie Ignacio
  15. Last Order directed by Joji Alonso
  16. Judgement directed by Raymund Ribay Gutierrez
Treb Monteras II, director of independent hip hip film Respeto (Photo grabbed from the exground filmfest’s website)



  1. Ruru Madrid, Magpakailanman – Takbo ng Buhay Ko
  2. Tilda Appleseed
  3. The One That Got Away
  4. Maalaala Mo Kaya (MMK)


  1. Dan Buenaventura, Local Legends: Bandurria
  2. Reel Time: HawBrigada Combat Camera Team
  3. Reporter’s Notebook: Yapak sa Pusod ng Dagat (Footsteps on the Seabed)
  4. Reel Time: Hawla (The Untold Story of the Village Monster)
  5. Alaala: A Martial Law Special
  6. Reel Time: Gutom
  7. ‘Di Ka Pasisiil
  8. I-Witness: Silang Kinalimutan (The Forgotten)
  9. Philippine Seas
  10. Reel Time: Batang Maestro (Little Teacher)
  11. Inside Marawi: A Report on 360 Video by Raffy Tima
  12. Front Row: Batang Bomba (Bomb Pickers)
  13. I-Witness: Behind the Banquet by Mariz Umali


  1. Revolution Selfie; The Red Battalion directed by Steven de Castro
  2. No Man Is An Island directed by Nash Ang
  3. Am-Amma directed by Dexter Macaraeg
  4. Call Her Ganda by PJ Raval




  1. John Anthony Wong, Bhoy Intsik
  2. Alec Figuracion, The Eternity Between Seconds
  3. Carlo Mendoza, 1-2-3
  4. Thop Nazareno, 1-2-3
  5. Gino Gonzales, Ang Larawan
  6. Ryan Cayabyab, Ang Larawan


  1. Dido de la Paz, Respeto
  2. Odette Khan, Echorsis (Sabunutan Between Good and Evil)
  3. Carlos Dala, 1-2-3
  4. Timothy Castillo, Neomanila
  5. Christian Bables, Signal Rock
  6. Allen Dizon, Bomba
  7. Ian Veneracion, Ilawod
  8. Andi Eigenmann, The Maid in London
  9. Mary Joy Apostol, Birdshot
  10. Angellie Sanoy, Bomba
  11. Ryza Cenon, Mr. & Mrs. Cruz
  12. Angeli Bayani, Bagahe


  1. Sonny Calvento, Nabubulok
  2. Mikhail Red, Neomanila
  3. Carlo Obispo, 1-2-3
  4. Treb Monteras II, Respeto


  1. Area directed by Louie Ignacio
  2. Sakaling Hindi Makarating directed by Ice Idanan
  3. Bomba directed by Ralston Jover
  4. Bhoy Intsik directed by Joel Lamangan
  5. Die Beautiful directed by Jun Robles Lana
  6. Nabubulok directed by Sonny Calvento
  7. Ang Panahon ng Halimaw directed by Lav Diaz
  8. Gusto Kita with All My Hypothalamus directed by Dwein Baltazar
  9. Bagahe directed by Zig Dulay


  1. Baby Go
  2. Piolo Pascual
  3. Anne Curtis
  4. Brillante Mendoza
Brillante Mendoza, director of social-realist thriller film Alpha, The Right To Kill (Photo grabbed from the San Sebastián International Film Festival’s website)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s